Recharging

15 01 2014

I ferociously ignored my enameling studio for three whole months (and felt pretty guilty about it) until earlier this week, when I suddenly felt the need to fire things up.  That very evening, I found this quote, shared by my Facebook friend, artist Charlotte Safewright.

 “One reason that people have artist’s block is that they do not respect the law of dormancy in nature. Trees don’t produce fruit all year long, constantly. They have a point where they go dormant. And when you are in a dormant period creatively, if you can arrange your life to do the technical tasks that don’t take creativity, you are essentially preparing for the spring when it will all blossom again.” — Marshall Vandruff

In those months when I felt no pull to my enameling studio, I still felt the itch to make things, so I experimented – played – with other media.  I went back to the piano, I quilted (poorly), I did some needle- and wet-felting, embroidery, and other things that required problem-solving and technical skills that were vastly different from those required in enameling – and my only goal was to have fun.

I’m not the dormant type; my break was less like fallow land and more like crop rotation. Seems that allowing Miss Muse to play with unfamiliar toys was just what she needed . . . and reading the Vandruff quote was just what I needed.

Miss Muse had not gone off in a huff, leaving my kiln alone and cold. There’s been no chiding me for my indolence; just the affirmation that it is the natural order of things to ebb and flow.  I feel happy to be in my studio, not guilty for my absence.

Next time you’re about to scold yourself for being “unproductive,” remind yourself (and any unenlightened family members) that you’re not loafing; you’re recharging.

forest flutist1-14-14 detail

 

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 01 2014
Jennifer Daggs

So glad it’s not just me that feels this way.

15 01 2014
debbiecornmanstudio

Love you blog. Thank you. All artist need to read this, to know that it is OK to take a break, but we feel so guilty if we are not doing something. Thank you for sharing.

On Wed, Jan 15, 2014 at 3:27 PM, Scorched Eyebrow Studio wrote:

> scorchedeyebrowstudio posted: “I ferociously ignored my enameling > studio for three whole months (and felt pretty guilty about it) until > earlier this week, when I suddenly felt the need to fire things up. That > very evening, I found this quote, shared by my Facebook friend, artist > Charl”

22 01 2014
wayne stratz (@nutmegdesigns)

Makes me think of the many weeks my blog went quiet. I have been meaning to thank you for when you stated that I still had things to say, thus Stratoz was not dead

22 01 2014
scorchedeyebrowstudio

Wayne, I love reading your posts. They are always thoughtful and gently, but insistently, thought-provoking. If my encouragement kept you from walking away from Stratoz, I am flattered and pleased.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 434 other followers

