It’s Just Another Day

1 01 2014

I know, I know, it’s New Year’s Day. I know traditional wisdom says it’s time to clean my emotional cupboards, prune my psychic forest, and chart my sparkly ambitious new course for the New Year. I also know it is a whole lotta unnecessary and unwelcome pressure.

New Year’s Day is also the day we can look back on, a few months – or days – from now, and blame for our current miseries, whatever they might be. We were bullied by the mystique of the day; forced to commit to a whole year’s worth of goals and plans in one sorry-ass, hung-over, cold, gray, winter day.

Not fair, New Year’s Day, not fair!

Let’s be fair to ourselves and to January 1st – it’s just another day.  Just like any other day, we will make decisions, plans, mistakes, and discoveries. We will eat healthy foods – or not; we will exercise – or not; we will learn to speak Erdu – or not.  It’s just another day.

To limit our internal reflection time to a few hours mid-winter is silly. To think we can only get a “fresh start” when the last digit of a calendar date changes is just dumb. I have been both silly and dumb about lots of stuff, but not about this.  Nope.

I wish you not just Happy New Year; I wish you Happy Every Day.

Now, I really must order my Rosetta Stone, Thigh Master, and Veg-o-Matic.

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 01 2014
June Rollins

I needed this reminder to smile as I am charting my sparkly, ambitious new course. Thanks, Paula!

1 01 2014
MARIA ETTEL

PAULA–I AGREE THAT INTROSPECTION IS OFTEN SELF SERVING OR SELF PITY,
“TODAY IS THE FIRST DAY OF THE REST OF MY LIFE” WORKS VERY WELL FOR ME.
I WILL SAY THIS REALLY IS THE TIME TO TELL YOU OF MY GRATITUDE FOR THE DAYS WHEN YOUR BLOGS GAVE ME DESSERT FOR THOUGHT.
LOVE FROM MARIA XO XO XO XO

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 432 other followers

